Common Congregation Sharing Questions & Answers

How long does it take for data to sync between computers?

JW Scheduler is deliberately not designed like Google Drive or Dropbox where changes are immediately synced.

Instead, every 60 seconds JW Scheduler will Send and Receive any Sharing Transactions.

This means it can take up to one minute for changes to be sent to the JW Scheduler Transfer Servers, and then up to another minute for changes to be downloaded to another computer.

However please note that some changes do not immediately update the User Interface. Sometimes you must either refresh the view or close and re-open JW Scheduler to see any new changes.

Why and when do members or devices Expire?

We take the security of congregation data very seriously. Therefore we have implemented strict protocols about member and device expiry. These may seem excessive, but ensure your Sharing Transactions are safe.

There are several reasons a member or device will expire:

  1. When the congregation is first shared with a member, they have only 7 days to connect with their personal devices. If they do not connect within 7 days, they will expire.
  2. After this initial 7-day period, if any member later wants to connect with another device, or if they Disconnect and Reconnect, or they change devices, for security reasons they will be expire.
  3. If a member does not connect to the congregation for 30 days, they will expire.

If a member or device has expired, a Congregation Sharing Administrator can select the Shared Member and click either ReShare or Allow More Devices to allow them to connect again.

  • Note: If a Congregation Sharing Administrator expires themselves, another Administrator should ReShare or Allow More Devices. This is why it is important to have multiple Sharing Administrators.
Why has our data become out-of-sync with other members?

Unlike Google Drive or Dropbox, JW Scheduler does not create a master copy of your data anywhere except your local computer. This makes it easier for data to be “out-of-sync” with others. Due to sfl restrictions on sharing data, we are unable to change this.

To reduce this happening:

  1. Always ensure all members are using the same version of JW Scheduler.
  2. Do not enter any new or updated data if your JW Scheduler does not say Connected (top-left). Instead, first fix the problem.
  3. Members should open JW Scheduler at least once a month, but should not leave JW Scheduler open when not using.
What if two or more people are accessing a congregation at the same time?

JW Scheduler is deliberately not designed like Google Drive or Dropbox where multiple people can work on the same documents at the same time. JW Scheduler Congregation Sharing does not support this. After you have finished using JW Scheduler, please close JW Scheduler. Do not leave it open.

Having said that, generally having multiple people connect at the same time won’t be a problem, but it depends on what they are doing.

If multiple brothers are only viewing data, there will be no problems.

If multiple brothers are editing different data, there shouldn’t be a problem. For example, the COBE is scheduling the Life and Ministry COBE parts, while the Secretary is entering Field Service Reports.

Problems may occur if two people are editing the same information at the same time. E.G. If both are editing the same member information at the same time.

Do you have to close and re-open JW Scheduler to see Congregation Sharing changes?

Generally no. Once the data has synced, it should be immediately available. However you might need to refresh the view to see the changes.

E.G. For Meeting Attendance Records, select another month, then back to that month. For Field Service Reports, select another Member, then re-click that Member, etc.

What is a Congregation Administrator and how to I make someone a Congregation Administrator?

Any member who has Congregation Sharing – Edit access is considered a Congregation Sharing Administrator. We strongly recommend your congregation has at least 2 Congregation Administrators. Otherwise you might get locked out of your congregation.

In the Shared Members list, select the person you want to make a Congregation Administrator, and set their Congregation Sharing access to Edit. Click Save.

Our Congregation Sharing Region is wrong, how can I change it?

For security reasons, the only way to change the Sharing Region is to Disable Sharing, and then Re-Setup Congregation Sharing on the new Sharing Region.

  1. Click Congregation > Congregation Sharing
  2. Click Disable Sharing.
  3. Re-setup Sharing according to Help > Congregation Sharing.
  • Note: This will affect all other Sharing Members in your Congregation. After you re-setup on the new region, you must immediately inform all other users. They will then need to Disconnect, and join the new Region. If you continue to use two different regions, your data will not sync!
Different elders are showing different Congregation IDs. What can we do?

This means multiple elders have separately created a JW Scheduler congregation. You cannot merge them. Instead, only one elder should create a New Congregation and all other elders should Open Congregation from Sharing to connect to that congregation.

Can Congregation Sharing be used as an online Backup of our data?

No. In order to comply with sfl, data is not permanently stored on the JW Scheduler Transfer servers.

Please make sure you regularly make a local Backup of your data. It would be wise to save these backups off-site in case your computer crashes.

What does Disabling Congregation Sharing do?

On the Congregation Sharing page, a Congregation Sharing Administrator can click Disable Sharing. This will immediately and permanently remove all Congregation Sharing Transactions, Logs and records from the Sharing Server. You can later re-enable Congregation Sharing.

This will affect all other Shared Members, so you should only select this if:

  1. You want to Reset your Congregation Sharing to fix any problems.
  2. Everyone in your congregation stops using JW Scheduler.

Comments are closed.