Backup and Restore Data

JW Scheduler creates both Automatic Backups, and allows you to create a manual backup of your data. When you create a Backup, all data is backed up, including Congregation, Members, Schedules, etc.

You can use Backup and Restore when changing computer, if any of your data is missing, or if any data was accidentally changed or deleted.

  • Important: Even though JW Scheduler creates an Automatic Backup, we still strongly recommend regularly creating a manual Backup and saving this offsite, somewhere safe. If your entire computer crashes, is destroyed or stolen, an offsite backup will allow you to restore all your data. If you or other brothers using JW Scheduler do not create an offsite backup, there will be no way to restore your data.
  • Again: JW Scheduler does not store your data anywhere online, and we have no access to your data. You are responsible for your data and ensuring it is kept safe and backed up.

To Backup or Restore your data, click Congregation

  • Note: JW Scheduler will also remind you to create a Manual Backup. You can change how often you receive this reminder in Settings.
JW Scheduler Backup and Restore Data

Automatic Backups

Every time JW Scheduler closes, it creates an Automatic Backup on your local computer. The last 40 Automatic Backups are kept, and you can restore from any of these at any time.

Automatic Backups are saved in C:\Users\[USERNAME]\AppData\Local\JW Scheduler\Backups as encrypted and password-protected ZIP files.

  • Note: Even though JW Scheduler creates an Automatic Backup, we still strongly recommend regularly creating a manual Backup and saving this offsite, somewhere safe. If your entire computer crashes, is destroyed or stolen, an offsite backup will allow you to restore all your data. If you or other brothers using JW Scheduler do not create an offsite backup, there will be no way to restore your data.

Backup All Data

To create a manual backup of all your data:

  1. Open JW Scheduler
  2. Click Congregation
  3. Click Backup All Data
  4. Select a location to save the backup
    • E.G. My Documents, USB, external hard drive, OneDrive, Google Drive, etc.
  5. Click OK

Your Backup File will then be saved as an encrypted and password-protected ZIP file. You can transfer your backup file to USB, OneDrive, Google Drive or any other location. You could also send this to another brother who uses JW Scheduler.

All Congregation, Members, Scheduler and Field Service data is saved in the backup file. The backup file saves everything.

  • Note: All backup files are fully encrypted and password protected, and can only be opened again by JW Scheduler.

Restore Data

You can Restore Data from either Automatic Backup or a Manual Backup file.

  1. Open JW Scheduler
  2. Click Congregation
  3. Click Restore Data
  4. Set the Backup Source as either File or Automatic Backup
  5. If File: Click Select File and locate your Manual Backup File
  6. If Automatic Backup: Select which Automatic Backup you wish to use. The last 40 are shown in reverse date order.
  7. Tick which Data to Restore
    • Note: You can either select Everything, or select individual data types.
  8. Click Restore and confirm your choice.
  9. All selected Data Types will be restored.
    • Note: If you are using Congregation Sharing and selected Everything, you must choose whether to also send this new data to all other Shared Members. If you selected only certain data types, the new data will automatically be sent to other Shared Members.
JW Scheduler Restore Data View
Scroll to Top