Change or Delete Congregation

JW Scheduler only allows you to have one Congregation at a time.

To change Congregation, you must first Delete the existing congregation from your JW Scheduler, and then either Create Congregation, Open Congregation or Import Congregation.

You would normally Change Congregation if you have moved into another congregation that also uses JW Scheduler.

  • Note: It is possible to have a 2nd congregation for Beta Testing, please see Beta Testing Help

Change Congregation

  1. Delete your current Congregation
    • Note: See Delete Congregation below for instructions
    • Note: If Congregation Sharing is enabled and others will continue to use JW Scheduler, ensure at least two other members have been set as Congregation Administrators
  2. At Getting Started, choose either
JW Scheduler Getting Started

Delete Congregation

  • Note: Deleting a congregation will delete that congregation and all data from your local computer, and optionally also from the Sharing Server. This cannot be undone! However, any Automatic or manual Backups will still exist and not be deleted, so you could always restore from Backup.

To Delete a congregation and all data:

  1. Select Congregation
  2. Click the Delete Congregation button
  3. Option: If Congregation Sharing is enabled and you are a Congregation Administrator, you can optionally tick Also Remove this Congregation from Sharing
    • Note: Only tick this if no other members of your congregation still use JW Scheduler.
  4. Option: If the JWS – Publisher App is enabled and you have App Edit Access, you can optionally Tick Also Disable the App
    • Note: Only tick this if no other members of your congregation still use JW Scheduler.
  5. Click Confirm
  6. Optionally, see Completely and Permanently Wipe All JW Scheduler Data below.
JW Scheduler Delete Congregation
JW Scheduler Delete Congregation Confirmation

Completely and Permanently Wipe All JW Scheduler Data

  • Note: Deleting a congregation will delete that congregation and all data from your local computer, and optionally also from the Sharing Server. Any Automatic or manual Backups will still exist and not be deleted.

To completely and permanently wipe all JW Scheduler data:

    1. Delete your Congregation, and Tick Also Remove this Congregation from Sharing and Also Disable the App
    2. Close JW Scheduler
    3. Uninstall JW Scheduler from your computer
    4. Open File Explorer, and delete the folder C:\Users\<YOUR WINDOWS USERNAME>\AppData\Local\JW Scheduler
      • Note: the AppData folder is usually hidden, but you can simply type it in the address bar to go to it.
    5. Delete any manual backups saved on USB or elsewhere.
  • Note: This cannot be undone!

Congregation Merging

It is not possible to merge multiple congregations in JW Scheduler.

However, if your congregation is merging with another, the easiest way to handle this is first choose which congregation has the most members, and make this the “new” congregation. You can change the Congregation Name and other details in Congregation Information.

Then transfer all members from the other congregation, and import them into the new congregation. You can also choose to transfer only some of the members.

Congregation Splitting

The easiest way to handle a congregation split is to create a New Congregation for the smaller of the two new congregations, and continue to use existing congregation for the larger one. You can change the Congregation Name and other details in Congregation Information.

Then, transfer all members from the existing congregation and import them into the new congregation.

Finally, remove any members who were transferred from the existing congregation.

Scroll to Top